GVT’s Top 10 Books from 2011

GVT’s Top 10 Christian Books for 2011

 #10.  The Soul Winner’s Secret by Samuel Logan Brengle, Salvation Army Publishers:

This is a re-read for me.  This book was originally published in 1903 and then later re-printed in 1990. I am not sure where I came across this book but in its 104 pages, the author has incredible insight into principles for one’s personal life and how to maintain balance. Chapter titles include Zeal, Spiritual Leadership, Redeeming the time, Physical Health, An Undivided Heart, Finance, Keeping the Flock and many more.  A must read for the Christian worker.  There are portions of the book that are a little dry and outdated, but persevere and you will be blessed beyond means

Available on Amazon and Barnes and Noble– Price Range New: $15.77-18.23       Price Used: 16.01       eBook available: No

#9.  The Treasure Principle by Randy Alcorn, Multnomah Publishers:

This little book came out about a year after The Prayer Of Jabez and much like the latter, swept the Christian communities with its basic principles on giving. Rhonda and I both read this book when it came out.  This book of 92 pages “revolutionized” how Rhonda and I give our monies. (Note that I have underlined “revolutionized”) It was through the principles set forth in this book along with the prodding of the Holy Spirit that Rhonda and I have increased our percentage of giving to an amount that I never thought possible when I first became a believer.  I must add that it is with great joy that we do this and not under compulsion.  It is because of this book that Rhonda and I are partners with many missionaries and Christian groups around the world.

Available on Amazon and Barnes and Noble– Price Range New: $ 1.94-$9.99      Price Used:  $.01      eBook available: Yes

#8.  The Prayer of Jabez by Bruce Wilkerson, Multnomah Publishers:

This particular book was first published back in 2000 and swept the Christian community back then.  A small but power packed book of 92 pages. This too is a re-read for myself.  I hadn’t picked it up for at least 10 years until just recently and found it was as exciting in 2011 as it was back then. I am not sure why we haven’t heard much more about this book recently, however I would encourage readers to go back to your bookshelves and dust off this little treasure. Great little read.  Dr Howard Hendricks says about this book, “If you long to live your life the way it is meant to be lived in Christ, The Prayer of Jabez is a must read. A small book, a life-changing message! Highly recommend it.”

Available on Amazon and Barnes and Noble– Price Range New: $3.99-$11.92        Price Range Used: $.87-$ 1.22      eBook available: Yes

#7.  If You Want to Walk on Water, You’ve Got to Get Out of the Boat by John Ortberg, Zondervan Publisher:

This was the first book I can remember when I started underlining the flaps of the book cover. I knew I was in trouble then. This was a re-read for me this year.  Outside of the Bible and the autobiography of George Muller this particular book is one of the most underlined books that I have. A great source on encouragement as the author weaves modern day water walking around the story when Jesus instructs Peter to “Come” get out of the boat and “Come.” Bob Buford, author of Halftime says…..”Ortberg leads the reader on a great adventure that can only happen when you say ‘Yes’ to making Jesus the focus of your life.”

Available on Amazon and Barnes and Noble– Price Range New: $7.63-$12.91        Price Used:  $.01       eBook available: Yes

#6.  Heroes of the Faith- William Carey by Sam Wellmen, Barbour Publisher:

William Carey is described as the Father of Modern day missions. He is credited as being the first missionary to India.  Born in England in 1761, he sailed for India shortly after his ordination as a Baptist preacher.  For those of us who are missionaries and lay leaders we have a lot of debt to pay for those who went before us. This book chronicles the life and times of William Carey and the enormous struggles he went through as he landed in India. “William Carey not only expected great things from God, he attempted great things for His Lord and Savior. A must read for any budding foreign missionary.”

Available on Amazon and Barnes and Noble– Price New: $ 6.60        Price Used: $.67      eBook available: No

#5.  From Pride to Humility by Stuart Scott, Focus Publishing:

This was a first time read for me.  How can a very short book of 31 pages and three chapters have effect a life change. Wow, trust me it will.  Title of the chapters are Manifestations of Pride, Manifestations of Humility and God’s Provisions for Man. This was the other book our Life Group went through this past year. The author wastes no time in getting straight to the heart of the problem. He pulls no punches.  Another book you walk away with saying ouch, albeit a good ouch.  I will say there were a few spots in this short book where I walked away saying “Hmmmm……. not real sure on that point.” However I extended grace and I measure a book on the impact it has on one’s life.  Overall, this had an incredible impact on how I see things and how I react to things. I would recommend this book to any Life Group. My advice is to take some time, preferably a week, to go over each chapter. Awesome little book.

Available on Amazon and Barnes and Noble– Price Range New: $2.04- 5.00        Price Used:  $1.79      eBook available: No

#4.  The Jesus I Always Wanted to Know by D. Sundarsingh Moses, Global Action Publisher:

Oh my gosh!!! In any other year, this could have very well been my #1 pick.  This was a first time read for me. This is one of those books where you buy multiple copies and hand them out, which in fact I did. It was a mandatory read for Team India 2011.  This is a biography of the author, Sundarsingh Moses, from Lucknow India.  This is a very quick read. In fact I took it on a plane with me and had it re-read by the time the plane landed.  Multiple times I had to put the book down and read the back cover of the book as I could not fathom so many miracles in one person’s life.  At one point, I was questioning the authenticity of the book because of the incredible faith and prayer life of this man. It will spur the American church into a deeper prayer life when the trials of life come their way. Caveat- The English and sentence structure needs some polishing but once the reader gets past that, you will then be blessed beyond measure.

Available direct from the publisher only.

#3.  Men of Faith- Charles Finney by Basil Miller, Bethany House Publisher:

This was a re-read for me. Once again the author, Basil Miller, nails it on the head as he journals the life and times of Charles Finney who sparked one of the greatest revivals ever seen in America.  The author picks up the story on August 29, 1792, when Charles Finney was born. This book is a quick read and will spur the reader on to the urgency of winning souls for Christ.  This is a must read for anyone who has a yearning and nudging from the Holy Spirit to get out of their comfort zone to witness the mercies of our precious Lord and Savior.  Mr. Miller does an excellent job in showing what can be accomplished through a totally sold out soldier for the Lord.

Available on Amazon and Barnes and Noble– Price Range New: $3.99       Price Used: $.01       eBook available: No

#2.  Crazy Love by Francis Chan, Published by David C Cook:

This is a first time read for me. I found this book to be a fast and quick read, a very enjoyable read.  I found myself underlining quite a bit as I went through the book. Many times I said “ouch” as Francis Chan pulls no punches in the message that he wants to get across. This is a very challenging book as Chan tries to motivates the lukewarm Christian into a life of outreach and service not because of guilt but out of “Crazy Love” for our Creator. I went through this with our Life Group. We had many a lively discussion over the principles laid bare in this book. The other thing I like about this book is that Chan has produced video clips introducing each chapter on his web site www.crazylovebook.com. Way cool.

Available on Amazon and Barnes and Noble– Price Range New: $4.55- $9.22      Price Used:  $2.99      eBook available: Yes

#1.  Men of Faith- George Muller by Basil Miller, Bethany House Publisher

This is a re-read for me. This is a timeless classic for those who are avid autobiography readers. The author starts with the birth of George Muller on September 27, 1805 and journals his life and struggles as Mr. Muller feeds and clothes as many as 2,000 orphan children in the height of his ministry.  This book will spur the reader on to a real intimacy with God through prayer and faith.  The reader will also learn time tested principles as to how to really know God’s will for one’s life as listed on pages 50-51. A must read for those in ministry and missionary work.

Available on Amazon and Barnes and Noble– Price Range New: $2.60-$5.99       Price Used: .66       eBook available: No

6 thoughts on “GVT’s Top 10 Books from 2011

      1. thanks for the lists – some good suggestions on there. Anything Randy Alcorn writes is always excellent. Even his fiction books – I especially like “Safely Home.”

        I already get Zions Fire – love that magazine. I actually went to Israel with Marv Rosenthal’s group about 5 years ago. The best trip of my life. I also get Voice of the Martyr’s. good information…..

        thanks for taking the time to send out these lists. Carol Mancini

  1. I’ve spent the last 18 months studying Torah, systematically. This , along with the prophets and psalms- is the word that Jesus studied and obeyed. Too bad the the gentile church has pretty much tossed it out the window for the last 1700 years, minimum.
    It’s at the top of my book list.
    Respectfully- the study which I have used as a guide is inter-active :www.torahclass.com
    Shalom, Greg

Leave a comment